Picture perfect


So, I just saw this image on facebook. And I thought, “why not write a story to support the picture?” So here’s my story. You can write yours in the comment box too!! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

It must be the memories I kept glued at the back of your old textbooks, and in the pockets of your worn-out plaid shirts; that have held the fragments of my mind together.

 

I remember my mock anger at your strewn-clothes-palace of a room, and how youโ€™d tickle me atop unstained sheets. I remember you tracing the landscape of my back, and marking your territory on my skin with your lips. The way you sucked in air when my tongue knew your skin, diving into me like I were the bearer of the everlasting life potion; you took the fire from the sun and sutured it to my hips.

 

I remember Sunday evenings, talking our lives away and discovering each other inch by inch. I remember the scars, the highs, and how you turned the pain into beautiful lines of poetry.

Now itโ€™s just silence. The kind of silence that rings in your bones.

Youโ€™re here, but โ€ฆ.youโ€™re not really here.

Somehow, you got indifference etched in your stem cells, generating a life of nonchalance.

You donโ€™t notice the stiff smile, or the tattoo beneath my left breast. You donโ€™t notice my tear-stained cheeks or the weight loss.

I want anger. I want a whirlwind of emotions. I want to you to scream or shout…

Anything but this deathly silence.

14 responses to “Picture perfect

  1. *silent giggle* everyone thinks I’m crazy. I mean..sure,I went crazy after you left,but I’m fine now .aren’t I? Aren’t I? How dare they try to lock me up?!?! But I wouldn’t let them separate us. I kicked and I screamed. Then I let logic take over. I acted like an adult. I wrote them a letter. I said ‘let me be with him in a room alone with him,paying my last respects,blah blah blah” the fools let me. I took you and ran. Now we live alone here . Where we can do what we like to do. ๐Ÿ˜‰ sit naked and stare at each other.

  2. Why is it so hard to tell you how I feel
    Why is it so hard to tell you the truth
    I just can’t , because I feel , it will make me naked
    Naked and bare – while you conceal your emotions

    I have so many assumptions of who you are
    And I am confused about what you are not – because its hard to read into you
    What are you afraid of? What are you going to loose when you loose control

    This picture says all that we could be and all that we are not – because you are so afraid of being naked. Even when I have surrendered it all.

  3. Haha! There’s not much you can say now huh? Mess with my heart will yah? Next time again, heheehe well may be in the afterlife.
    May be in the afterlife you will treat a woman right, may be you won’t toy with anyone’s heart, may be you’ll finally know my worth… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    My mother always said, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all!” ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s funny how you had to be nothing but bare bones to understand that, smh, you never had anything nice to say, never!
    Now my love, what would you like to do today? ๐Ÿ™‚ how about a silent contest huh?? You up for it?? ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. I don’t have a story but a few things to say. First of all the love story you came up with between the two characters is so amazing, I kept going back to the picture and I couldn’t believe you got that from it, so that’s imagination right there especially how you described the sex scene between them.
    I found this picture disturbing because both of them are dead except that she doesn’t know it yet and the reason I say that is because she’s naked and completely delusional about who she’s sitting next to. The Earth has stopped turning, no job to go to, no clothes to wear, no food to eat, no need for water, everything and everyone have stopped existing except for this moment that she’s sharing with this lover who’s been dead for a really long time. I wonder how she survived the weeks of his putrid smell, but I guess love doesn’t just make you blind, it makes you lose your sense of smell too.

Leave a Reply

