20/30


I’ve been speaking to God about you.

Told him you’ve been wearing apathy

as a defense against loss

Loss of love,

Loss of control,

Loss of the innocent child you used to be.

Told him the way you create distance

to test the elasticity of bonds is breaking my heart,

And breaking yours too,

even if you refuse to accept it.

Told him you carry nonchalance like a chronic cough,

Shackle meanness to your tongue

and only put it back in your mouth after it has lashed out.

I’ve been speaking to God about you

And even tho he knows I’m full of complaints

He lets me ramble to sooth my restless mind

2 responses to “20/30

  1. Long-time reader, first-time commenter 🙂

    My favorite one so far. Maybe one day, you’ll do a backstory on some of these poems (especially this one)

Leave a Reply

